SRO Motorsports Group Celebrates Season Achievements at Prestigious Awards Ceremony

The SRO Motorsports Group's gala awards ceremony highlighted the season's best in the Fanatec GT World Challenge Powered by AWS and British GT, celebrating champions like Dan Harper and acknowledging the legacy of figures like Allan Simonsen.

SRO Motorsports Group Celebrates Season Achievements at Prestigious Awards Ceremony

The stars of the SRO Motorsports Group's various racing series gathered at Old Billingsgate for the esteemed annual end-of-season awards ceremony, celebrating the triumphs and exceptional performances of the season. This prestigious event brought together champions from the Fanatec GT World Challenge Powered by AWS, both European and Asian series, and the Intelligent Money British GT Championship, honoring the top performers across each category.

The ceremony was a showcase of talent, with champions from various classes receiving accolades for their outstanding performances throughout the season. Among the celebrated was Dan Harper, who alongside his co-driver Darren Leung from Century Motorsport, received the championship winner’s trophy. Harper's skill and tenacity on the track also earned him the Allan Simonsen Award, a tribute to the late series great who exemplified remarkable speed and spirit.

Harper's 2023 season, marked by his incredible driving finesse and audacious overtaking maneuvers, was a highlight of the Fanatec GT World Challenge Powered by AWS. His extraordinary stint at Donington in October cemented his reputation as a top-tier BMW factory driver and a force to be reckoned with in motorsports.

Joining Harper in the spotlight were GT4 title rivals Erik Evans and Matt Cowley, who flew in from America to claim their respective championship trophies. The ceremony also recognized the achievements of Silver class winners Charles Clark and Jack Brown from Optimum Motorsport, further underscoring the depth of talent in the series.

The GT4 Pro-Am champions, Michael Johnston and Chris Salkeld from Century, were celebrated, with their sponsor and celebrity chef Ainsley Harriott in attendance. The GT3 and GT4 teams’ trophies were awarded to Nick Cristofaro of 2 Seas and Clive Freke of Century, respectively.

In a special segment of the evening, Mark Sansom and Will Tregurtha of Barwell Motorsport were officially crowned GT3 Silver-Am champions, marking another highlight of the SRO Motorsports Group's eventful season.

The ceremony also featured a unique one-off award to commemorate 20 years of SRO's involvement in British GT. David Addison, the evening's host, was pleasantly surprised when co-commentator John Watson presented him with a trophy honoring his significant contributions to the championship since its inception.

The SRO Motorsports Group's end-of-season awards ceremony was not just an evening of accolades but a celebration of the spirit, skill, and dedication that define motorsports at its best.