Rosberg X Racing Triumphs in 2023 Extreme E Championship

Rosberg X Racing, led by Nico Rosberg, triumphed in the 2023 Extreme E season, clinching their second title at the Copper X Prix in Chile. Overcoming challenges, RXR showcased resilience in a dramatic final, setting a benchmark in electric off-road racing.

Rosberg X Racing Triumphs in 2023 Extreme E Championship

In an exhilarating conclusion to the 2023 Extreme E season, Rosberg X Racing (RXR) clinched their second championship title at the Antofagasta Minerals Copper X Prix in Chile. The team, led by Nico Rosberg, demonstrated exceptional resilience and skill, overcoming significant challenges to emerge victorious in a dramatic Grand Final.

Rosberg X Racing's journey to their second title in three seasons was nothing short of a rollercoaster. Despite a severely damaged ODYSSEY 21, they managed to cross the finish line in second place, showcasing the team's indomitable spirit and tactical prowess. This remarkable achievement was set against the backdrop of their nearest rivals, ACCIONA | SAINZ XE Team (ASXE), retiring from the race, which dashed their hopes for a maiden championship win.

The final round of Season 3 saw Veloce Racing triumph with their third victory of the year, securing a top-three finish in the championship standings. Meanwhile, Season 2 champions X44 Vida Carbon Racing completed the Round 10 podium positions. In the Redemption Race, Amanda Sorensen and RJ Anderson of No. 99 GMC HUMMER EV Chip Ganassi Racing ended their season on a high note with a win, rebounding from a challenging Round 9.

Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky of RXR expressed her joy and relief at winning the 2023 Extreme E Championship. She reflected on the intense competition with ASXE throughout the season and the stress of dealing with a puncture during the final race. Johan Kristoffersson, her teammate at RXR, echoed her sentiments, praising the competitive spirit of the season and dedicating their win to the late Kyle LeDuc.

The Grand Final was a showcase of intense racing and strategic maneuvering. ASXE's Mattias Ekström led the race initially, with Veloce Racing's Kevin Hansen and RXR’s Johan Kristoffersson in hot pursuit. A dramatic moment saw Kristoffersson control his RXR ODYSSEY 21 after nearly veering off course, only to face a puncture that required a pit stop.

In a twist of fate, ASXE's Sanz, while battling for the lead with Veloce Racing's Molly Taylor, rolled her vehicle, ending their race and championship aspirations. Veloce Racing sailed to victory, while RXR, despite the damage to their car, secured the championship by finishing second. X44 Vida Carbon Racing managed to complete the race in third place, despite their own challenges.

The Redemption Race saw No. 99 GMC HUMMER EV Chip Ganassi Racing take a commanding win, with ABT CUPRA XE finishing second, followed by JBXE. A mechanical failure forced Carl Cox Motorsport to retire, ending their season.

The 2023 Extreme E Championship standings reflect the intensity and competitiveness of the season, with Rosberg X Racing leading, followed by ACCIONA | SAINZ XE Team and Veloce Racing. This season of Extreme E not only highlighted the prowess of Rosberg X Racing but also set a new benchmark in electric off-road racing. As the teams regroup and refocus, the motorsport world eagerly anticipates the next chapter in this electrifying series.