Louis Sharp Clinches 2023 ROKiT F4 British Championship in Thrilling Finale

In a sensational finale, Louis Sharp triumphed in the 2023 ROKiT F4 British Championship, showcasing exceptional skill and determination in a season that celebrated diversity and emerging talent in junior motorsports.

Louis Sharp Clinches 2023 ROKiT F4 British Championship in Thrilling Finale

The 2023 ROKiT F4 British Championship culminated in a breathtaking display of skill and strategy, as young racing prodigy Louis Sharp secured the championship title in a dramatic penultimate race. This season, marked by intense competition and unpredictability, has truly set the stage for an electrifying future in motorsports.

A Tense Morning Battle Sets the Stage
The day began with the reverse grid race, which saw Sharp’s 13-point lead trimmed down to a mere ten points. Surrounded by a fleet of Hitech Pulse-Eight cars in a heated midfield battle, Sharp demonstrated remarkable composure under pressure. Will Macintyre of Hitech Pulse-Eight played a crucial role in the title race, keeping the standings leader in check and finishing ahead in seventh place, with Sharp following at eleventh.

Josh Irfan's Stellar Performance
The race witnessed an impressive victory by rookie Josh Irfan from Rodin Carlin, marking his second overall win of the year. Following close behind were Jack Sherwood of CDR, with his third podium appearance of the year, and Isaac Barashi from Argenti Motorsport, celebrating his second overall top-three finish of the season.

Gustav Jonsson Seals the Rookie Cup
In a parallel contest, Gustav Jonsson from CDR clinched the Rookie Cup with a race to spare, finishing as the fourth rookie. His triumph adds him to the illustrious list of past winners like Formula 2’s Jack Doohan and Zane Maloney, showcasing the championship’s role in nurturing future racing stars.

The Decisive Second Race
The championship title was up for grabs in the second race of the day. Sharp, starting from pole position, was flanked by Deagen Fairclough from JHR. Despite a strong start by Fairclough, who led the race and set new fastest laps, Sharp’s consistent performance earned him a second-place finish. This result was enough to crown him the 2023 ROKiT F4 British Championship winner, with Macintyre securing the runner-up spot.

Fairclough’s Impressive Finish
Fairclough’s prowess on the track was undeniable, as he not only led the race from start to finish but also claimed the Motul Fastest Lap Award in both races. His remarkable effort ensured his third place in the championship standings.

Rodin Carlin Dominates the Team’s Cup
In the team competition, Rodin Carlin emerged victorious in the Team’s Cup, owing to stellar performances by Louis Sharp, Dion Gowda, Josh Irfan, and Noah Lisle, who collectively won half of the season’s races. This team’s success is a testament to their collective skill and strategic brilliance.

A Season of Diversity and Talent
The 2023 season of the ROKiT F4 British Championship was marked by its diversity and depth of talent. With 12 different race winners, 21 different podium finishers, and a total of 27 competitors, it was a year that celebrated the breadth and potential of young racing talent.

Looking Ahead to 2024
As the 2023 season concludes, the focus now shifts to the 2024 season, set to commence on April 27th at Donington Park. After a 202-day hiatus, the championship will return, promising another year of thrilling races, emerging talents, and unforgettable moments in motorsports.